How to turn off your Google location history
Google Maps can keep a log of everywhere you go. If you find that more creepy than useful, it's easy to disable. Google Maps has introduced tons of innovative features over the years, from 3D drivinโฆ
Google Maps can keep a log of everywhere you go. If you find that more creepy than useful, it's easy to disable.
Google Maps has introduced tons of innovative features over the years, from 3D driving directions to telling you how crowded a business is . One particular feature is more divisive: your location timeline, which logs everywhere you've traveled for later reference. As useful as this option can be, perhaps helping you recall the name of a restaurant you stumbled upon long ago, it can also feel like an invasion of privacy.
For many people, having a log of your location constantly running in the background is too much like Big Brother. If that data fell into the wrong hands, someone could learn a lot about you. It's worth noting that Google has shifted from storing your location history on the cloud to locally on your device unless you perform a manual backup, but the desire to stop one of the many ways you're being tracked is still understandable. Thankfully, turning off Google's location history feature is easy.
You canย globally turn off your Google Maps Timeline using the Location settings in Google's My Activity panel .ย However, since Timeline data comes from your phone and can only be viewed there, you might wish to change these settings from your phone for completeness.
These settings are device-specific, so if you also use Maps on a tablet or second phone, you'll need to go through the process again there. If you ever want to turn it back on, follow the same instructions, but select Turn on during the final step instead.
Open the Google Maps app, then tap your profile pictureย located on the right side of the search bar.
Hit the three dots at the top-right corner, then choose Location and privacy settings .
From the dropdown menu, select Turn off to stop using the feature but keep existing data, or Turn off and delete activity to also clear all historical data.
Read Full Story at Engadget โ


